To promote interest and increase the knowledge of those interested in genealogy and to encourage the preservation of family histories by maintaining and making available a library of genealogical records, histories and other related information.
Special library hours 12:00-4:00 p.m. Thursdays and Saturdays are available for those visiting out of town. Please call Becky at 937-217-1897 or Ethel at 937-386-2309.
P.O. Box 231 - 507 N cherry Street West Union, Ohio 45693 Directions/Map
The Adams County Historical Society mission statement is to preserve the heritage of previous generations, educate future generations and create a better future.
The Society runs the Adams County Heritage Center located on St. Rt. 247 at 507 North Cherry St. in West Union, Ohio. The center includes a genealogical collection, museum, post office, and log house. This is open on Thursday and Saturday from 12:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M. For more information about the center, call 937-544-8522 during those normal open hours.
One of the Largest Paleo Indian Sites in North America which has produced over 100 fluted points.It is believed that the first men came across a 'land bridge,' a large land area that connected Alaska and Siberia. They were hunters and gatherers and did no farming. They had no permanent campsites and were in the constant pursuit of game. Archaeologists have no definite proof but believe that these Pa leo-Indians entered the Ohio region as early as 11,500 B.C.The Paleo-Indians may have entered Adams County from the north and west. Several of their distinctive 'fluted' points have been found in the county. Since they are the only people to utilize the fluted point, these early hunters are known as the Fluted Point Complex.About 9,500 B.C. another group of Pa leo-Indians moved into the Brush Creek Valley and intermingled with the Fluted Point Complex. They are known as the Plano Complex. Their weapons differed from their predecessors'. The once popular fluted points gave way to the un fluted and stemmed varieties. All spear points and tools are considered rare since the Pa leo-Indians were of a nomadic nature having no permanent villages or kill sites.
Address Restricted Sandy Springs Vicinity ,
Bentonville Anti-Horse Thief Society Monument
The Anti-Horse Thief Society has been in existence since 1853. It was originally created to retrieve stolen horses and bring the thieves to justice. The monument was placed in Bentonville in 1961.
Buckeye Station was built by General Nathaniel Massie in 1797. The home was one of the oldest frame houses built in the State of Ohio. General Massie lived in this home until about 1802 when he sold it to his brother-in-law, Charles Willing Byrd, Secretary of the Northwest Territory. This old home was located on Possum Hollow Road. A monument can be seen on U. S. Route 52 just east of Manchester, Ohio.
This monument commemorated the World's Plowing Match held near Peebles in 1957. The monument is an exact replica of a 12th century European plow. Northern Ireland, Sweden, Germany, New Zealand, and many other countries came together peaceably for a common purpose. The grounds covered 2,000 acres and took in 17 farms. One-hundred and forty exhibitors set up displays for the five-day event.
The Adams County Fairgrounds, established at this site in October 1853, on seven acres of land donated by Judge George Collings, was converted to a Civil War training camp named in honor of General Thomas Hamer, a Mexican War hero, of Georgetown, Ohio. The old stone Courthouse was made into a hospital to serve the camp. The 70th Ohio Volunteer infantry, organized in October 1861, trained on the old fairgrounds until Christmas day 1861, when it marched from Camp Hamer to Ripley. The 70th participated in the battles of Shiloh, Tennessee; Atlanta, George; the siege at Vicksburg, Mississippi, and Sherman's March to the Sea.
The corner of West and South St West Union , Ohio 45693 Directions/Map
Covenanter Church Historical Marker
Marks the site of the original church building. It is about one-quarter mile south of the village on State Route 136 in the Village cemetery.
Dr. A. C. Lewis home was built between 1845 and 1848 in Winchester. Dr. Lewis was the first resident physician. He was a known abolitionist and used this house as a station on the underground railroad.
The hewn stone section of the house is the original home of Ohio's second governor. It was erected in 1805. The stonemason was Thomas Metcalf, later a governor of Kentucky. It is located on State Route 136 and Township Road 21. The two-story addition, now the front of the home, was built in 1852 by George Kirker, son of the governor. George Kirker later served as a Captain in the Civil War. It is privately owned.
The Harshaville Covered Bridge is the last covered bridge still used in Adams County. It was built before the Civil War, circa 1855, and was used by Confederate General John Morgan and his Raiders when they passed through the county during the Civil War. It is on Graces Run Road in Harshaville.
The John T. Wilson Homestead consists of historically renovated original log cabin and two-story brick homestead constructed circa 1840 by John T. Wilson, merchant, soldier, statesman, and philanthropist. The home was used by Wilson as a station on the Underground Railroad and is now a nationally registered landmark. Historic, but fully modernized the B&B offers a log cabin and 3 bedrooms in the main house.
Manchester's boating ramp to the Ohio River. The Ohio River is 981 miles long, starting at the confluence of the Allegheny & the Monongahela Rivers in Pittsburgh, PA, and ending in Cairo, IL, where it flows into the Mississippi River. The Ohio river offers approximately 164 species of fish to the avid angler. During the Summer and Fall months large Paddlewheelers travel the river.
'Manchester, Ohio - First Settlement-Virginia Military District'In 1784, the state of Virginia ceded all of its Northwest Territory to the federal government except for this tract to satisfy the land bounties owed to its Revolutionary War soldiers. The Virginia Military District extended from the Scioto River in the east to the Little Miami River in the west, and from the Ohio River on the south to the town of Kenton in the north. The District contained over 4 million acres of land. Nathaniel Massie founded Manchester, which is the fourth oldest settlement in Ohio, as a base for his surveying operations. Manchester, sometimes called Massie's Station, was founded in 1791, populated largely by settlers coming from Kentucky and Virginia.
Completed Circa 1890. This is the second to last-covered bridge to be used in the state highway system. It is no longer in use but can be seen from St. Rt. 136.
7430 HWY 136 - SW of West Union off of State Route 136 West Union , Ohio 45693 Directions/Map
In earlier times there were three islands, but only two remain. Legend has it that often the Indians would disguise themselves as white men and ambush settlers who were traveling the Ohio River. They are now a National Wildlife Refuge under the supervision of the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
The medicinal value of the springs was first promoted by Charles Matheny in 1840. In 1864 the first hotel and resort was built at that location and was named "Sodaville". Mineral Springs Health Resort, nationally known for its large hotel complex and recreational facilities, was destroyed by fire in 1924. A smaller hotel was built a quarter mile north of the original site and continued operation through 1940.
- Near The Intersection of Mineral Springs Road and Peach Mountain Lane. Mineral Springs, OH 45660 Directions/Map
Moore's Memorial Chapel
The present structure is located on the original site of the first Methodist Church built in Ohio and the old Northwest Territory. The original church building was erected in August of 1800. Rev. Joseph Moore organized the church in 1795 or 1796. The pulpit was constructed from sixteen kinds of native wood.
2523 Township Highway T-162A - Located 1/4 mile up Wintersteen Run Blue Creek, Ohio 45616 Directions/Map
Olde Wayside Inn
Offering 5 rooms during certain events, call for more details. Home cooked meals at the historic "Bradford Traven" built in 1804. A registered Ohio historical landmark. The Olde Wayside Inn was originally built by General David Bradford in 1804 and was known as Bradford's Tavern. The inn is of log construction. General Andrew Jackson and Mexican General Santa Anna were entertained here. The Olde Wayside is still used today providing five sleeping rooms and offers home cooking.
Serpent Mound is one of the few effigy mounds in Ohio. It is the largest and finest serpent effigy in the United States. The museum contains exhibits on the mound and the geology of the surrounding area, known as the Serpent Mound crypto explosion structure. It is located on State Route 73 six miles north of State Route 32. It is operated and maintained by the Ohio Historical Society. Serpent Mound is open year round, although hours vary with the seasons. Museum hours also vary. There are special hours for schools and other groups by appointment. Please call 937-587-2796 for more information. Serpent Mound is one of the few effigy mounds in Ohio. It is the largest and finest serpent effigy in the United States. The museum contains exhibits on the mound and the geology of the surrounding area, known as the Serpent Mound crypto explosion structure. It is located on State Route 73 six miles north of State Route 32. It is operated and maintained by the Ohio Historical Society. Serpent Mound is open year round, although hours vary with the seasons. Museum hours also vary. There are special hours for schools and other groups by appointment. See this page for more detailed information on park hours.
Features a short, 1/4-mile, trail that winds downhill to the Brush Creek valley. Considered a moderate hike, the trail is at its best during the early spring when Trilliums cover the hillsides.
This homestead has been razed. It was the boyhood home of David Sinton, industrialist and philanthropist of Cincinnati.
The Page One-Room Schoolhouse Museum
In 2001, the Adams County Retired Teachers purchased Page School. Their goal was to renovate the school as a museum for the students and adults of Adams County. The school was opened in September of 2006 and in the spring of 2007, over 300 3rd grade students visited for lessons and games. The school is located north of West Union off SR 41 at the intersection of Page School Rd and Vaughn Ridge Road. It is opened to the public on the last Sunday of each month, 2pm-4pm. For more information or to plan a visit call, Mary Fulton 937-587-2043 or Carol Motza 937-373-3724.
Page School Rd and Vaughn Ridge Rd. - Corner of Page School Road and Vaughn Ridge Road West Union , Ohio 45693 Directions/Map
Hours: 2:p.m. - 4:pm
This home was built around 1856 and is on the National Register of Historic Places. The original furnishings are still in this home after being occupied by four generations of a prominent Manchester family. It is now a private residence.
Erected in 1798, a two-story log structure built by gunsmith John Treber, one of the oldest documented buildings standing in the state. For over four decades it served as a wayside inn and stagecoach stop on Zane's Trace, Ohio's first authorized road (SR 41). Listed on the National Registry of Historical Places, N of West Union on SR 41, privately owned and not opened to the public.
This Native American mound has not been excavated. Just east of the mound in a Fort Ancient village site, but the age of the mound is unknown. The mound is north east of the parking lot of the Island Creek Marina & Campground.
A prehistoric Fort Ancient culture village site located near the Mouth of Scioto Brush Creek. This site is privately owned.
West Union United Presbyterian Church
The West Union United Presbyterian Church was built of hewn stone in 1810. The stonemason was Thomas Metcalf who later became Governor of Kentucky. Governor Thomas Kirker was instrumental in getting the church built. This is the oldest church structure in Ohio still in use as a church.
This brick home was originally a tavern built by Peter Wickerham in 1801 on Zane's Trace. When Morgan's Raiders passed through the county in 1863, Confederate soldiers slept at this Inn. This is possibly the oldest existing brick structure in Adams County. It was used as the headquarters during the World's Plowing Match held 1957. It is located on State Route 41 between Peebles and Locust Grove. It is a private residence.
William Lafferty Memorial Funeral and Carriage Collection
The collection consists of antique hearses and other funeral service vehicles, both motorized and horse-drawn. The horse-drawn vehicles and memorabilia date from 1848. The collection is dedicated to James William Lafferty (1912- 1987), the 4th generation of the Lafferty family to serve West Union and surrounding areas of Adams County in the funeral business. Due to his preservation of family carriages and to his acquisition of additional funeral vehicles, this collection is available for your viewing and interest. The collection is open on Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. or by chance or appointment.
The Wilson's Soldier's Monument was erected in 1893 as a memorial to the men of Adams County who died in the Civil War. The monument stands in front of the Wilson's Children Home. Both the home and the monument were donated to the people of Adams County by the Hon. John T. Wilson of Tranquility. Wilson lost his only son in the Civil War. Adams County's own Drummer Boy of Shiloh, Col. John A. Cockerill, unveiled the monument June 10, 1893.
Ohio's 1st highway and mail route authorized by Congress in 1796, marked and cleared in 1797 by Col. Ebenezer Zane, it became the route of the old stage line from Maysville to Wheeling used by statesman traveling to and from the Southwest and Washington D.C. Monument located North of West Union on SR 41 before Dunkinsville.